Here Are the 2021 Ballon d’Or Winners – and the Ones Who Came Close

Here Are the 2021 Ballon d’Or Winners – and the Ones Who Came Close

As our sister site covered in their football news today, Paris Saint-Germain superstar Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or. But who were the other triumphants in this prestigious French awards ceremony? Well, here are the 2021 Ballon d’Or winners – and the ones who came close to winning, too.

Lionel Messi has clinched the 2021 Copa America as well as their Player of the Tournament trophies as Argentina’s captain.

Add to that an illustrious final season with Barcelona in La Liga, and you have a Ballon d’Or winner.

The Argentina superstar has once again been named the best player on the planet, with Robert Lewandowski finishing as runner-up.

But there were other winners on Monday night beside him, for other award categories.

Here Are the 2021 Ballon d’Or Winners – and the Ones Who Came Close

First, lets acquaint ourselves with the top 30 men footballers as Ballon d’Or has ranked them:

Rank Name Points Position Club National Team
1. Lionel Messi 613 FW PSG Argentina
2. Robert Lewandowski 580 FW Bayern Munich Poland
3. Jorginho 460 MF Chelsea Italy
4. Karim Benzema 239 FW Real Madrid France
5. N’Golo Kante 186 MF Chelsea France
6. Cristiano Ronaldo 178 FW Manchester United Portugal
7. Mohamed Salah 121 FW Liverpool Egypt
8. Kevin De Bruyne 73 MF Manchester City Belgium
9. Kylian Mbappe 58 FW PSG France
10. Gianluigi Donnarumma 36 GK PSG Italy
11. Erling Haaland 33 FW Borussia Dortmund Norway
12. Romelu Lukaku 26 FW Chelsea Belgium
13. Giorgio Chiellini 26 DF Juventus Italy
14. Leonardo Bonucci 18 DF Juventus Italy
15. Raheem Sterling 10 FW Manchester City England
16. Neymar 9 FW PSG Brazil
17. Luis Suarez 8 FW Atletico Madrid Uruguay
18. Simon Kjaer 8 DF AC Milan Denmark
19. Mason Mount 7 MF Chelsea England
20. Riyad Mahrez 7 FW Manchester City Algeria
=21. Bruno Fernandes 6 MF Manchester United Portugal
=21. Lautaro Martinez 6 FW Inter Milan Argentina
23. Harry Kane 4 FW Tottenham Hotspur England
24. Pedri 3 MF FC Barcelona Spain
25. Phil Foden 2 FW Manchester City England
=26. Nicolo Barella 1 MF Inter Milan Italy
=26. Ruben Dias 1 DF Manchester City Portugal
=26. Gerard Moreno 1 FW Villarreal Spain
=29. Cesar Azpilicueta 0 DF Chelsea Spain
=29. Luka Modric 0 MF Real Madrid Croatia


Other Winners

As for the women, another FC Barcelona loyal, midfielder Alexia Putellas of Spain, won the Ballon d’Or for greatest player.

And though Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandowski missed out on the Ballon d’Or, he did become Striker of the Year.

Italy and Paris Saint-Germain goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma clinched the Yashin Trophy whereas Champions-League-champions Chelsea were the Club of the Year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here