WATCH: Ishan Kishan imitates MS Dhoni during India’s first T20I against Sri Lanka

Ishan Kishan
Source: Twitter

During the match on Sunday, Ishan Kishan created a ‘Deja vu’ moment for the fans of Dhoni and Indian cricket.

MS Dhoni, the renowned Indian cricketer, retired from the national team on July 10, 2019. The wicketkeeper-batsman retired from international cricket the following year. Several players, notably Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul most recently, have tried to fill the vacuum left by Dhoni after his retirement. None of them, though, could truly fill Dhoni’s shoes.

The fact that fans and critics constantly compared them to Dhoni made it more difficult for the contending players. In terms of batting, Rishabh Pant has begun to follow in the footsteps of the renowned finisher to some extent, but wicketkeeping is an area where Pant still requires some time.

In the midst of it all, another star wicketkeeper, Ishan Kishan, has emerged.

Ishan, who was given the chance to play for India in the present Sri Lanka series, seemed to have seized it with both hands. Not only with his batting, but also with his wicketkeeping, he appears to have wowed the crowd. Ishan created a ‘Deja vu’ moment for Dhoni and Indian cricket fans during India’s first T20I against Sri Lanka on Sunday. The southpaw stumped Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka virtually identically to how Dhoni had dismissed Sabbir Rahman in a 2016 T20 World Cup encounter – a game that will go down in history for the manner in which India won it.

Here is Ishan Kishan’s stumping:

Here is that of Dhoni from the 2016 T20 World Cup:

India beat Sri Lanka by 38 runs in 1st T20I

In the game on Sunday, India lost the toss and was thus given the opportunity to bat first. India achieved a competitive 164/5 in the stipulated quota of 20 overs, thanks to Suryakumar Yadav’s 50 off 34 and Shikhar Dhawan’s 46 off 36. Ishan also chipped in with a useful 20* off 14 balls. Sri Lanka got off to a solid start in reply, but wickets fell at regular intervals, and they were bowled out for 126 in 18.3 overs. Deepak Chahar took 2 for 24 and Bhuvneshwar Kumar returned 4-for. Each of Krunal Pandya, Varun Chakravarthy, Hardik Pandya, and Yuzvendra Chahal took a wicket.

For more cricket live scores, Live cricket match and other cricket news follow

Also see: WATCH: Dushmantha Chameera bowls a snorter to dismiss Prithvi Shaw for a duck in his T20I debut


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here