Poonam Yadav joins the Brisbane Heat as a substitute for Amelia Kerr ahead of the WBBL 7 season

Poonam Yadav
Source: Twitter

The Brisbane Heat signed India’s ace leg spinner Poonam Yadav for the forthcoming Women’s Big Bash League 2021 on Friday. Yadav is the Heat’s final international addition for the season, replacing New Zealand’s star spinner Amelia Kerr, who withdrew from the competition due to mental health difficulties.

The Indian leggie has a reputation of being a nemesis for Australian batsmen, as the 30-year-old scalped four wickets while allowing only 19 runs in the first game of the Women’s 2020 T20 World Cup against Australia. Yadav, who will participate in a foreign T20 League for the first time, is the seventh Indian player to sign a WBBL 7 contract.

We know exactly how we want to use Poonam’s skills in our lineup: Heat’s head coach

Coach Ashley Noffke of the Brisbane Heat is pleased to have Poonam Yadav on his team and has a plan for how to use the 30-year-old Yadav. “We were sure we could back our group to give a decent account of themselves even after we lost Amelia Kerr, but adding Poonam’s skill and competitiveness is a major result,” Heat coach Ashley Noffke told cricket.com.au.

He went on to say that Yadav is a unique type of good bowler, and that Heat captain Jess Jonassen is eager to work with her.

“She is a different style of bowler than Melie, and we know how to best utilise her talents in our lineup.” Jess Jonassen has played against her, and as captain, she is eager to work with her now that she has joined the Heat,” Noffke noted.

Yadav, the Heat’s final International addition this season, will join South Africans Anneke Bosch and Nadine de Klerk in the starting lineup.

Yadav is the eighth Indian to sign with WBBL 7

Poonam Yadav, from Uttar Pradesh, is the eighth Indian to sign a WBBL 7 contract, following Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma (both Sydney Thunders), Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur (both Melbourne Renegades), Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav (all Sydney Thunders), and Richa Ghosh (Hobart Hurricanes).

Cricket Australia made a historic decision for the competition, which is due to begin on October 14. For the first time in tournament history, all 59 matches will be broadcast live on television. Foxtel, the payment provider, will show all 59 WBBL 2021 events, while Channel Seven will broadcast 24 of the competition’s games.

For Live cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket score, latest cricket news, cricket score, Test series and other cricket news follow Livematchupdates.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here