KKR vs PBKS Match: The Kolkata Knight Riders have definitely been one of the more exciting teams in the UAE leg of the IPL 2021, having played in some memorable matches. After losing a nail-biter while defending against Chennai Super Kings, Eoin Morgan’s team had a chance to redeem themselves with stronger performance on the field against Punjab Kings on Friday. While they missed a few catches that cost them the game, there was one instance where it appeared like the catch was taken cleanly, but the third umpire believed otherwise.
It all started in the 19th over of the innings, when KL Rahul hammered a ball off Shivam Mavi towards midwicket. Rahul Tripathi dashed towards it and executed a spectacular dive to complete a stunning catch. The catch appeared to be a fair catch to the naked eye, but the judgement was sent to the third umpire.
— Star Sports (@StarSportsIndia) October 1, 2021
Was it out or not out?
KKR vs PBKS Match: As the replays were shown on the big screen, the third umpire, Anil Dandekar, was given 4-5 perspectives to make a decision. As Tripathi had his fingertips underneath the ball, there was scarcely any angle that showed the ball touching the ground. But, to everyone’s surprise, the third umpire ruled it not out because he could see the ball making contact with the ground.
It was a pivotal moment in the game, as KL Rahul survived and went on to strike a big boundary a few deliveries later, putting Punjab Kings in command. Shahrukh Khan eventually finished the job as PBKS won the match by 5 wickets with 3 balls remaining.
Former England off-spinner Graeme Swann commented on the incident after the game, saying, “The third umpire examined it from various angles, and it stood out from all of them. It’s abysmal umpiring.” Former KKR captain Gautam Gambhir also expressed his disappointment with the decision, admitting that it was a surprise. “These kinds of shockers can’t happen at this level in the IPL,” Gambhir remarked.
Netizens were equally dissatisfied with the decision, flooding Twitter with postings stating that Rahul Tripathi was robbed of what could have been one of the season’s best catches.
Take a look at the reactions:
Fingers under the ball. #KKRvPBKS
— Jimmy Neesham (@JimmyNeesh) October 1, 2021
— KolkataKnightRiders (@KKRiders) October 1, 2021
— Mr Indian Gamer YT (@aarkam34) October 1, 2021
— Sariyansh Mehta (@SariyanshM) October 1, 2021
Is this really 3rd umpiring?
3 angles are conclusively pointing that the ball in in the hands of #rahultripathi . Now umpire is giving Not Out.
😡😡😠😠 #BCCI should ban the umpire for upcoming matches in this IPL season.
— SB (@sb_voice) October 1, 2021
— Shrestha Srivastava (@ShresthaSri14) October 1, 2021
— KOSH GUPTA 🇮🇳 (@koshgupta) October 1, 2021
Joke of a third umpire! That was a brilliant piece of catching, phenomenal athleticism from Rahul Tripathi.
— Rohan Sengupta (@GarryDevilDada) October 1, 2021
— Shivendra Singh Parmar (@TheShivendra_) October 1, 2021
For live cricket news, cricket match updates, IPL 2021, latest cricket news and other cricket news follow Livematchupdates.com.