IPL 2022 season will begin on April 2 at Chepauk Stadium and would likely end on June 4 or 5

IPL 2022
Source: IPL/BCCI

IPL 2022: After the successful completion of IPL 2021 in the UAE, all attention has now gone to the next edition, which will usher in a new era of the competition. The 15th season of the IPL will be a mega-blockbuster, with 10 franchises competing for the famous trophy, thanks to the addition of two new clubs – Lucknow and Ahmedabad – to the roster.

All current teams have already been given a deadline of November 30 to submit a list of retained players, after which the two new franchises will be able to choose their core group of players from among those available. The focus will then shift to mega auctions, which are scheduled to take place in early next year.

The IPL 2022 season is slated to have 74 matches

Given that it would be a little longer competition with the addition of additional teams, there have been rumours that IPL 2022 will begin in March. However, according to the most recent sources, the event will actually begin on April 2. According to Cricbuzz, the season would consist of 74 matches played over the span of more than 60 days, with the season finale expected to take place on June 4 or 5.

The next season will be played in India, according to BCCI secretary Jay Shah, and the cricket festival may begin at Chepauk Stadium, the home field of IPL 2021 champions Chennai Super Kings. If the previous tendency holds true, they will most likely face the Mumbai Indians or the Kolkata Knight Riders (as they were runners-up in the previous season).

What could the IPL 2022 format look like?

The IPL 2022 format might see all ten franchises play 7 home and 7 away games throughout the course of the season. This means that the edition will have 70 league games, followed by four playoff games, for a total of 74 games.

All of the teams will most likely be grouped into two groups of five teams each. The teams will play four home games and four away games against the franchises in the same group. A team will play one home and one away game against one of the other group’s five clubs. Aside from that, they will play two games each (2 at home and two away) against the remaining four clubs in the other pool.

For Live cricket news, cricket match updates, latest cricket news, cricket score, live cricket score and other cricket news follow Livematchupdates.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here