ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw have been left out of India’s squad

T20 World Cup
Source: BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the country’s roster for the highly anticipated men’s T20 World Cup 2021, which will be held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. In Group 2, the Virat Kohli-led team will be joined by Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan. Two extra teams will be added to this group after Round 1 to ensure qualifying. Meanwhile, Australia, England, South Africa, the West Indies, and two other teams will compete in Group 1 following the qualifying round.

The Indian squad is mostly following the script. The frontline openers for the T20 World Cup are Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. They were almost certain to be picked, especially after forming a strong top-of-the-order partnership in the recent Test series against England. Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, T Natarajan, and Yuzvendra Chahal, on the other hand, did not make the roster. Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan are among the Indian middle-order players. It’s worth mentioning that Shreyas Iyer, another excellent middle-order batsman, has been named as a reserve.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, on the other hand, are expected to lead the team’s pace attack. Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur, in particular, have been selected as reserve players. Chahal was unexpectedly left out, but Varun Chakravarthy, Rahul Chahar, Axar Patel, and Ravichandran Ashwin were all called up. Hardik Pandya is expected to play a significant role among the all-rounders.

India’s T20 World Cup squad for 2021:

On Sunday, October 17, 2021, the T20 World Cup will begin. While Virat Kohli’s side has been a regular force in world cricket, they have not to win an ICC trophy since winning the Champions Trophy in 2013. Not only did they lose the ODI World Cup semifinal to New Zealand, but they also lost the ICC World Test Championship final at Southampton to the same opponent. India has only one T20 World Cup victory to their name, which came in the inaugural tournament in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

On October 24, India will play Pakistan in the T20 World Cup for the first time. The tournament final is set to take place in November.

For Live cricket score, cricket match updates, cricket score, latest cricket news and other cricket news follow Livematchupdates.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here