Barcelona Femeni Are the Champions after RFEF Declared an End to the Season


The Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) has formally ended the women’s league, crowning Barcelona Femeni champions.

The decision seemed set for the last month.

President Josep Maria Bartomeu of Barcelona himself already congratulated his team on winning the championship on May 8th.

They qualify for the next Champions League along with Atletico Madrid, who sits second in the suspended table.

The news of the league ending prematurely, and Barcelona winning, was announced on Twitter.

Next season Santa Teresa and Eibar will be promoted to the Liga Iberdrola, taking the overall tally to 18 teams in the next championship.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here